Boy playing with Lawrence Lek's DalstonMonAmour in 2015 in Gillett Sq

OPEN SOURCE is an artist-led initiative based in East London, specialising in time-based media and live events. Presenting 21 artists and 9 specially commissioned works to a diverse audience, OPEN SOURCE 2016 took place 28th May to 2nd June 2016, and explored subcultures, identity, fluidity and self-determination, across the disciplines of video, painting, installation and performance.

OPEN SOURCE is born from the collision of two worlds: art-world private view meets the public space of Gillett Square, with its domino players, musicians, families and skateboarders. It presents artworks in the midst of real life. It is free and accessible to all.

OPEN SOURCE is a public platform, engaging diverse audiences and creating paid opportunities for artists to produce ambitious new works.

Already widely known as a hothouse of exciting talent – just a year on from its original inception – this year’s participating artists included Rachel Maclean, representing Scotland at the 2017 Venice Biennale, Simeon Barclay, showing this summer at the Liverpool Biennial, and Lawrence Lek, whose career has undoubtedly been on a roll since winning the Dazed Emerging Artists Award in 2015. Having recently shown at Glasgow International, he has also just been announced as a winner of the Jerwood/FVU Awards 2017.

OPEN SOURCE 2016 featured a fantastic roster of artists and a strong curation of interactive projects, including: an investigation into Hackney languages; an immersive video game installation; an invasive species of ice cream; a ride into Futuristic Dalston; an obsessive compulsive drone; a bombastic DJ set sampling West African archives; encrypted street posters coming to life; super-responsive T-shirts; experimental hair salons; fleeting manifestations of gender expression; an hallucinogenic tale of austerity and aspiration in a post-X-Factor landscape; the story of a body falling to earth’s centre; and an after-dark infectious apocalyptic VJ set.


Emily Butler, Christine Eyene, Helen Nisbet, Joe Fletcher Orr & Doug Bowen, Richard Parry and Amy Sherlock.


Larry Achiampong, Cory Arcangel, Simeon Barclay, Shiraz Bayjoo, Hannah Black, Flo Brooks, Helen Cammock, Leo Chadburn, Cooking Sections, David Raymond Conroy, Danielle Dean, Benedict Drew, Andy Holden, Joey Holder, Lawrence Lek, Rachel Maclean, Alice Marcelino, Richard Muller, Tai Shani and Mariana Simnett.


Frieze Video, The Exchange and Hackney Pirates.

Download the full press release HERE.